See The List Of 4 College Of Education That Has Been Upgraded To University By FG

Filed in Education News | By NGSchoolz Staff | Last Modified:

Recently we published on this site that the Federal Government wishes to start awarding degrees to college of Education,The Federal Executive Council on Wednesday approved the conversion of four federal colleges of education to universities.

The decision was taken at a meeting of the
council, presided over by President
Goodluck Jonathan.

Minister of Information, Patricia Akwashiki,
and Minister of Education, Ibrahim
Shekarau, briefed State House
correspondents of the meeting’s outcome.
List Of The 4 College Of Education And Their University Name:
•Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo (now Adeyemi University of Education, Ondo);

•Federal College of Education, Zaria (now Federal University of Education, Zaria);

•Federal College of Education, Kano (now Federal University of Education, Kano); and

•Alvan Ikoku College of Education, Owerri (now Alvan Ikoku University of Education, Owerri).

The minister explained that the colleges of
education were part of the 21 federal
colleges of education that had been
awarding degree programmes in the last
three decades under the close supervision
of the different universities they are
affiliated to.

He said the council considered the need for
further quality in teaching service, hence
the conversion of the colleges to universities since more graduates would be needed in the teaching profession.

“We are heading to having more graduates
in the teaching profession and hence the
need for these universities to produce
graduates in education. If we need quality
education, we need quality teachers,” he

Shekarau explained that the next step was
for the Ministry of Justice to prepare
amendment to the laws establishing the

This, he explained, would be followed by
some administrative changes.
The minister added that the council had
approved the establishment of the Federal
University of Health Sciences in Otukpo,
Benue State.

Until the approval, the university was said
to be the College of Medical Health Sciences
under the Federal University of Agriculture,

He said the institution had now been
granted autonomy as part of continuous
efforts to ensure quality graduates into the
various fields of medicine and sciences.

“So, a total of five universities were
approved at the council meeting today,” the
minister added.

We Believe This Article Was Helpful, Don’t Hesitate To Share This Information With Your Friends On Facebook, Twitter, Whatsapp and Google plus.
Copyright Warning: Contents on this website may not be republished, reproduced, redistributed either in whole or in part without due permission or acknowledgement. All contents are protected by DMCA.
The content on this site is posted with good intentions. If you own this content & believe your copyright was violated or infringed, make sure you contact us via This Means to file a complaint & actions will be taken immediately.

Kindly Enter Your Email Below To Get Free And Fresh Content Delivered Automatically Each Time We Publish. We Respect Your Privacy. You're Safe! No Spam Either!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *